How to Fix Error 1311

Tuesday, December 18, 2012 Off





1. Go to 'Start' and click on 'My Documents.' In the My Documents window that opens, click on the 'File' menu, click on 'New' and then click on 'Folder.' Type a name for the new folder (for example 'setupfile'), and then press 'Enter.'
2. Insert the software setup CD into your CD drive.

3. Go to 'Start' and click on 'My Computer.' In the My Computer window, double-click on the CD drive to open it.
4. On the 'Edit' menu, click on 'Select All' and then click on 'Copy.'
5. Go to the 'setupfile' folder you created, click on the 'Edit' menu, click on 'Paste' and wait for the process to complete.
6. From among the files you just copied, double-click on 'Setup.exe.' Setup starts.

How to Make Custom Windows Error Messages

Monday, December 17, 2012 Off





1. Click 'Start' and select 'Run' in the right-hand corner of the Start menu. Type 'Notepad.exe' into the text box, and click 'OK.'
2. Type 'x=MsgBox('Error Message', 0 16, 'Box Title Name')' into Notepad without the external quotation marks and include your custom error message in the 'Error Message' section (in quotation marks) and a title for the error message in 'Box Title Name' (in quotation marks). An example of an error message may be x=MsgBox('You clicked the wrong key!', 0 16, 'Wrong Key!'), as exactly written.

3. Click 'File' and select 'Save As' in Notepad. Save your error message as 'Error.vbs' to your computer, preferably on the desktop.
4. Click 'Start' and select 'Run' as in Step 1. Select 'Browse.' When the Explorer window appears, select 'All Files' from the drop-down box in the right-hand corner. Locate the error message saved in the previous step; for example, if your file was saved on the desktop, you could navigate to 'Desktop' and select 'Error.vbs.'
5. Click 'OK' in the 'Run' window. Your error message should now appear. If the error message does not appear as expected, ensure you have followed the method correctly or try creating a new error message.
6. Right-click on your saved error file, and select 'Copy'. Select 'Start,' click 'All Programs,' right-click on 'Startup' and click 'Open.' Right-click in the 'Startup' window and click 'Paste.' Your custom error message will now appear when Windows starts.

How to Restore a Class Not Registered Error

Off





1. Right-click on the 'Start' button from your desktop and click the 'Explore' option from the shortcut menu.
2. Click the 'OK' button that appears for the 'Class Not Registered' error to close out of the dialog box.

3. Click the 'Start' button from the desktop and then click the 'Run' button. If you don't see the 'Run' button, type 'Run' in the search field and press 'Enter.'
4. Enter 'regsvr32 ExplorerFrame.dll' into the 'Open' field. Click the 'OK' button and then try to run Windows Explorer again. Click the 'Start' button from your desktop if you still receive the error and then click the 'All Programs' option.
5. Select the 'Accessories' option and then click the 'System Tools' option. Click the 'System Restore' option.
6. Click the 'Restore my computer to an earlier time' option and then select a restore date for a time before the error occurred. Click the 'Restore' button and your computer will automatically restart.

How to Troubleshoot an Error Updating Windows Vista

Off





1. Go to 'Start > Control Panel > System and Maintenance > Administrative Tools.'
2. Click 'Services' and type in the password if you have one.

3. Right-click on 'Windows Update' and hit 'Stop.'
4. Go to 'Start > Computer.' Click on 'C' drive.
5. Open the 'Windows' folder and then open 'SoftwareDistribution.'
6. Open 'DataStore' and right-click to delete any files in there.
7. Hit the 'Back' button. Open 'SoftwareDistribution' and delete any files in the 'Download' folder.
8. Hit the 'Back' button. Open 'SoftwareDistribution' and delete any files in the 'Download' folder.
9. Open 'Services' and right-click 'Windows Update.' Hit 'Start' to resume updates. If it will not start, go to 'Start > All Programs > Windows Update > Check for Updates.'

How do I Stop a C0000145 Application Error?

Saturday, December 15, 2012 Off





1. Click the 'Start' button and then click the 'All Programs' tab.
2. Click on 'Accessories' and then right-click on the 'Command Prompt' option.

3. Click 'Run as administrator' and then enter your administrator password into the field that appears on the screen.
4. Type 'sfc /scannow' into the command prompt and press the 'Enter' button.
5. Wait for the scan to complete and then restart your computer for the changes to take effect.

How to Fix Windows XP Search

Off





Restoring Search Tool in Start Menu
1. Right-click on the Windows taskbar and select 'Properties' to open the Task Bar and Start Menu Properties window.
2. Click the 'Customize' button under the 'Start Menu' tab to open the Customize Start Menu.

3. Scroll to and check the 'Search' option under the 'Advanced' tab. Click 'OK' to close the window. You have just restored the 'Search' companion shortcut to the Windows Start Menu.
Eliminating Search Tool Pop-up Errors
4. Click 'Start' and then select 'Run' to open the Run command prompt window. Type 'regedit' (without quotes) and click 'OK' to open the Registry Editor window. This step begins the process of eliminating any pop-up errors you might be getting when attempting to run the search companion tool.
5. Drill down to the 'Namespace' folder in the left-hand pane of the Registry Editor window:HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Desktop\NameSpace
6. Right-click on the 'Namespace' folder and click 'New' to enter a new registry key.
7. Type the following key (including the curly brackets) into the window and press 'Enter' when finished:{e17d4fc0-5564-11d1-83f2-00a0c90dc849}
8. Right-click the 'Default' registry key in the right-hand pane of the Registry Editor window, and select 'Modify' to open the Edit String menu.
9. Type 'Search Results Folder' in the window and click 'OK.' Close the Registry Editor window and reboot the computer. The Windows XP search companion tool should now be fully functional.

How to Fix a Disk Read Error

Off





1. Click on the 'Windows' orb logo at the bottom of the desktop to show the Start menu. Click on the 'Computer' link from the menu to open a window.
2. Right-click on the drive letter, e.g., 'C,' 'D,' etc., to show a pop-up menu. Select 'Properties' from the menu to open a dialog box.

3. Click on the 'Tools' tab to bring it to the front of the box. Click the 'Check now' button in the 'Error-checking' section.
4. Place a check mark into the box next to both options, 'Automatically fix file system errors' and 'Scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors.'
5. Click the 'Start' button. Wait and monitor the screen while Windows diagnoses and fixes disk errors, including the 'disk read error.' You will see status messages during, and a report at the end of, the process.

How to Fix Windows Vista Blank Blue Screen

Off





1. Restart your computer by hitting 'Ctrl'-'Alt'-'Del' twice; if your keyboard is disabled, hold down your 'Power' switch for 10 seconds or so to turn the computer off and then turn it back on. When your computer boots back up, hit the 'F8' key over and over until an option screen comes up.
2. Choose 'Safe Mode without Networking' from the menu and then 'Start.' If your computer starts up with a desktop and without the blue screen, you can assume the cause of the blue screen is a driver for the operating system. Move on to Step 3. If there is still a blue screen, you may need to replace your RAM; see Warnings.

3. Click on the Start menu and type 'ipconfig' in the search prompt. Double click on 'ipconfig' and then on the 'Startup' tab. Click 'Disable All' and then restart your computer in regular mode. If there is no blue screen, the problem may be one of your startup items; move on to Step 4. If there is still a blue screen, move on to Step 5.
4. Go back to ipconfig and try adding one startup item at a time and then restarting your computer. If you receive a blue screen after adding a particular startup item, you can pinpoint that program as the problem. Keep testing until you determine which item has caused your blue screen and keep that item disabled for the future.
5. Restart your computer and hit the 'F8' key as described in Step 1. Click 'Enable VGA mode' from the menu. When you start your computer, go to 'Start,' 'Control Panel,' 'Personalization' and then 'Display Properties.' Lower your screen resolution one or multiple settings lower (for example, if it is 1,280 by 800, try lowering it to 800 by 600). Restart your computer in regular mode. If it works, you can assume that your resolution was too high for your monitor. If you still have a blue screen, move on to Step 6.
6. Repair faulty system files on your machine by using a system scan. Start your computer in Safe Mode again. Click 'Start,' 'All Programs' and Accessories.' Right-click 'Command Prompt' and select 'Run as administrator.'
7. Type the following into the command prompt 'SFC [/SCANNOW] [/VERIFYONLY] [/SCANFILE=
] [/VERIFYFILE=
] [/OFFWINDIR=
/OFFBOOTDIR=

How to Fix ActiveX Error Problems on My Computer

Wednesday, December 12, 2012 Off





1. Click the 'Start' button and select 'All Programs.' Scroll up to find the shortcut for Internet Explorer. Click to launch the browser.
2. Click on the 'Tools' and select 'Internet Options.'

3. Click on the tab titled 'Security.'
4. Find the 'Custom Level...' button under the sub-heading 'Security level for this zone.'
5. Scroll down under the 'Settings' subheading to find 'ActiveX controls and plug-ins.'
6. Scroll down further to find the contents under 'ActiveX controls and plug-ins.' Look for 'Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins.' Make sure it shows 'Enabled.' If it doesn't, be sure to change it to 'Enabled.'
7. Look for 'Script ActiveX controls marked safe for scripting.' It should be located right below 'Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins.' Make sure it also shows 'Enabled.' If it doesn't, make sure to change it to 'Enabled.'
8. Click 'OK.' Click 'Apply.' Close and re-launch Internet Explorer to complete the task. You should not find any ActiveX error messages. If you still do, click on the 'Reset button' under 'Reset Custom Settings' after finishing Step 4.

How to Fix the ws2

Tuesday, December 11, 2012 Off





1. Download the Ws2_32.dll file.
2. Right-click the saved DLL file and click 'Copy.' Go to the 'Start' menu, click 'Computer,' double-click the 'C:' drive, double-click the 'Windows' folder and then the 'System32' folder. Right-click anywhere in a blank space and click 'Paste.'

3. Go to the 'Start' menu, type 'run' in the 'Start Search' box and press 'Enter.' Type 'Regsvr32 'C:\Windows\System32\ws2_32.dll' in the search field and hit 'Enter' to register the DLL. Click 'Yes' in the pop-up to confirm the registration.
4. Restart your computer.

Powered by Blogger.